July 23, 2013

  • For the last time ever?

    In which I think out loud about the concept of “for the last time, ever” and various bits of my life.

    It’s a weird concept “for the last time, ever”. Ominous. Gloomy. Attach it to something otherwise bland, “Jon had a cup of tea”, and it takes on a far more serious meaning, “Jon had a cup of tea for the last time, ever.”

    Now, some of these things are straight forward. By the end of this month, a lot of folks will be doing things on Xanga for the last time, ever. (I’ll be one of them. -_-)

    But what I find weird, and even interesting, are the “for the last time, ever”-s that fly under the radar. The ones that aren’t thought about much until years down the road. Like, if you KNEW you were doing something for the last time, would you do things the same way?

    It’s kind of strange. For me anyway. I never feel like life has clear, well defined borders, neatly segmenting things into periods & eras. But looking back on things, it’s a whole different story.

    Like hanging out with friends, during student days.

    Or the venerable tradition of Saturday Morning Cartoons.

    Or playing videogames on some old consoles, like the Atari 2600, or the NES.

    Or recording songs from the radio.

    Or listening to songs recorded from a radio. On a walkman.

    Hell, I’m at a point where I can look back on food & meals from many moons ago, that I had for the last time ever.

    Now, I’d be lying if I said it’s not tempting to want to dwell on the past, ranting about the good old days. (Before the dark times, before the prequels.) But, accepting the past for what it is, I find it fun to occasionally wonder how things might have gone down if I were aware that it was for the last time ever.

Comments (5)

  • i wonder if i too will be one of the many who’ll type ‘for the last time’.

  • @rudyhou - I’m fond of the saying “There’s only one way to find out”. :D On a slightly related note, I wonder if this is going to be my last blog post here.

  • I still dont know what’s going to be my last xanga post about. are you going anywhere after xanga?I opened a blog on wp and enjoying it so far :inkfell.wordpress.com

  • @meddwl - I checked out Inkfell. Neat. :D Would you mind if I took a shot at drawing some of them? (It might be a while though, and I’m most likely to post them on my DeviantArt or Twitter account.)I’m actually kind of tempted to go out with a post/pulse along the lines of “We apologize for the inconvenience.” Most of my non-xanga accounts haven’t been touched in quite a while.

  • @Lakakalo - oh please do! actually if you give me an e mail account I can add you as a collaborator on inkfell and you can post what you come up with in there too :)  

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *